Jump menu

Main content |  back to top

News and Media Releases

Third quarter 2009 results

At 07.00 GMT (08.00 CET and 03.00 EDT) on Thursday 29 October, 2009 Royal Dutch Shell plc released its third quarter results and third quarter interim dividend announcement for 2009.

Royal Dutch Shell Chief Executive Officer Peter Voser commented:

"Our third quarter results were affected by the weak global economy. Upstream and Downstream profitability has been sharply reduced compared to year-ago levels. We see some indications that energy demand and pricing are improving, but the outlook remains very uncertain, and we are not expecting a quick recovery. Despite Shell's good operating performance in this difficult environment, we have embarked on an ambitious programme of stringent measures to further improve our performance.

I am pleased with the portfolio progress in the third quarter. In Russia, production ramp-up of the Sakhalin II LNG project has been achieved ahead of schedule. In Australia, we have launched the Gorgon project, which will supply global LNG markets for decades to come. Our strategy remains on track, although the near-term industry outlook remains challenging. We are taking steps to improve our performance, to bridge the company, and our shareholders, into a period of significant growth in the coming years."

Royal Dutch Shell plc 3rd Quarter and Jan-Sept 2009 Unaudited Results (US$ million)

Third quarter and Jan-Sep 2009 Unaudited results (US$ million)
  Third quarter Jan-Sept
  2009 2008 % 2009 2008 %
Revenue (*1) 75,009 131,567 -43 197,113 377,288 -48
Income before taxation 4,569 15,467 -70 16,146 51,290 -69
Income attributable to shareholders 3,247 8,448 -62 10,557 29,087 -64
CCS Earnings 2,990 10,903 -73 8,627 26,581 -68
*1:excluding sales taxes, excise duties and similar levies