Jump menu

Main content |  back to top

News and Media Releases

Fourth quarter and full year 2009 results and interim dividend announcement

At 07.00 GMT (08.00 CET and 02.00 EST) on Thursday 4 February, 2010 Royal Dutch Shell plc released its fourth quarter and full year results and fourth quarter interim dividend announcement for 2009.

Royal Dutch Shell Chief Executive Officer Peter Voser commented:

"Our fourth quarter 2009 results were impacted by the weak global economy. Oil prices have increased compared to a year ago, but gas prices and refining margins have declined sharply, because of weaker demand and high industry inventory levels. We are not assuming that there will be a quick recovery, and the outlook for 2010 is uncertain.

Our strategy is on track, although the near-term industry outlook does remain challenging. We are taking steps to improve our performance, to bridge the company, and our shareholders, into a period of significant growth in the coming years.

We are making good progress on our plans to raise Shell's competitive performance ..."

Royal Dutch Shell plc 4th Quarter and Full Year 2009 Unaudited Results (US$ million)

Fourth quarter and full year 2009 results
  4th quarter Full Year
  2009 2008 % 2009 2008 %
Revenue 83,419 82,702 -1 285,129 470,940 -39
Income before taxation 4,874 -470 - 21,020 50,820 -59
Income attributable to shareholders 1,961 -2,810 - 12,518 26,277 -52
CCS Earnings 1,177 4,785 -75 9,804 31,366 -69